The app have been updated for iOS 9 and is now available on the App Store.
Note: The latest iOS update means that cross-device synchronisation via iCloud works perfectly. Please use the Contact page if you see otherwise.
This app is being actively developed. So if you have any suggestions for either fixes or improvements, please use the Contact page to make a request.
If you have set an access code then enter it here.
Tip If you are shown a numeric keypad and you need a normal keyboard then just press the Lock icon in the top left corner. This will switch between the two keyboard types.
Safe tab: Passwords lists & Category tag
The thin table on the left scrolls to show lists of tag images.
Tags can be associated with password entries in order to find them efficiently.
When you press a tag image to select it, the password list on the right will only show password records with your selected tag.
When a tag is selected the gap between the tag list and the records list will become blue. This is a visual aid to remind you that you are looking at tag filtered results.
Pressing the same tag again will deselect it and return the passwords shown to the full list.
The larger list on the right is the main password list. It normally shows all your password entries.
There are two ways to filter the password list.
1) Select a tag image on the right. E.g. to find your eBay record you would select the shopping basket tag.
2) Type a search field in the search box at the top. This will filter the password records with titles that match your search term.
To see the details of a password record press the row from the main list.
Safe tab: Entering a new password record
Safe tab: Deleting a password record
Password records can be deleted by swiping right to left in the passwords list.
The password details that can be stored are:
- Title: this is shown in the main list
- Username: associated with the record
- Password: associated with the record
- Web: URL associated with the record
- Tags: Press the tags button to select whichever tags you want to associate with the record. This can be used to filter the password records from the main page.
- Notes: a free form notes section. You can store any text here.
Both the username and password can be hidden by changing the settings from the Settings tab. This will show only some of the letters of your username/password to make it recognizable by you but harder to read by others.
To see a hidden field just press inside the text box and it will be shown in full.
NB All the yellow field labels can be pressed in order to copy the details. E.g. you can press the Password label and it will copy the contents of the password field so you can paste it elsewhere.
Password details: Web browser
Pressing the Web button on the details section will show a web browser view. This view has clickable Username & Password labels at the top.
When these labels are pressed they also copy the details into the paste buffer. These can be pasted into the appropriate fields in the web page in order to simplify logging in.
There is also a Browser button in the top centre, which can be pressed in order to open the web page in the external Safari browser.
The top section can be hidden by pressing the on/off toggle.
Backup: How to backup
You can backup all your records by pressing the Backup button. This will backup and encrypt all your password records and store them in the text box next to the Backed up label.
Please note that the code used to encrypt the backup is the same as your access code to enter the app. You will need this in order to decrypt the backup.
Pressing the Backed up label will copy the encrypted backup so you can paste it elsewhere (e.g. your notes) for safekeeping.
You can also email the backup by pressing the Email button.
The Read button is used to test that you can successfully decrypt the backup.
NB Pressing Read does not restore any data it just attempts to decrypt it and shows you the titles of the decrypted content.
To actually restore your data press the Restore button – see below.
Take a copy of the backup you’d like to restore and paste it into the Backed up text field.
Then enter the password that was used to encrypt it into the Decrypt code field.
If you just want to see what is in the backup, press the Read button. This will show the titles of the password records it contains in the list at the bottom.
Tip: If you don’t see anything in the list after you have decrypted it, check the password. Also check that what you cut and pasted only includes the backup text. E.g. if it is from an email backup, make sure you haven’t also copied the email signature.
If you want to restore this backup, then press Restore and OK.
NB This will create all new records even if some or all of them already exist.
Settings tab: Setting the access code
To set the access code to the app press the Set code button.
NB When no code is set (as when the app is run for the first time), you will only need to set the New code and confirm it.
To change the code after one is set you will also have to enter the current code.
Settings tab: Settings
The “Use iCloud setting” is on by default. On means it will automatically synchronise your record data with other iOS devices logged in using the same Apple ID.
If you do not want to synchronise your data or just don’t want to use iCloud, set this to “Off”.
Toggling this switch will show you two different databases:
Off => Local (on your device)
On => Remote (iCloud)
Tip: After changing this setting go to the “Safe” tab to check your records are as expected.
“Delete all records” is a quick way to remove all traces of your data. You will be given one chance to confirm or cancel this prior to deletion.
NB Taking an encrypted backup before you delete all your records is advised. As is testing that you can successfully decrypt the backup by using the Read button in the Backup section.
Username and Password hiding can be set on this page. This will set whether or not usernames & passwords will be obfuscated in the details section.
The Auto-lock time sets how long after the last time the access code was entered you will have to re-enter the access code.